LT
BACK
Photo Norbert Tukaj

13. COMPOSERS’ UNION BUILDING AND RESIDENTIAL QUARTERS

Authors

V. E. Čekanauskas, V. Brėdikis; INTERIOR – V. E. Čekanauskas, 1959–1966.

About

After a fire and two years of repair work, the Composers’ House has come back to Open House Vilnius. The music hall and residential quarters complex located in the Žvėrynas neighbourhood, in a peaceful pine forest near the Neris River, is one of the first masterpieces of post-war modernist architecture. The complex reveals the fascination of Vilnius architects with the regional modernism of Finland.

 

The competition held in 1959 was won by the young and ambitious architect duo of Vytautas Edmundas Čekanauskas and Vytautas Brėdikis.  The project was continued and completed by Vytautas Edmundas Čekanauskas, who later designed the Lazdynai micro-district, the Contemporary Art Centre, and the Government building.

 

To this day, the Composers’ House complex is charming for its sensitivity to nature, as well as the interesting history of its emergence and existence.

Visiting time

Sat 10am-20pm
Sun 10am-17pm

Tours are held every half hour. Last tour on Saturday is at 7 pm; Sunday – 5 pm.

How to get there?

Closest bus stop – Kęstučio.

Address

A. Mickevičiaus g. 29
  • 25

THANK YOU